Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabh

Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Hope Blackley-Logan Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

December 5, 2019

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 18-20, 2019, and December 2-4, 2019:

Supreme Court

Seat 5 The Honorable George C. James Jr., Sumter, SC

Court of Appeals

Seat 7 The Honorable Stephanie Pendarvis McDonald,

Charleston, SC

Circuit Court

At-Large, Seat 11 The Honorable Alison Renee Lee, Columbia, SC

At-Large, Seat 13 Amanda A. Bailey, Myrtle Beach, SC

Debbie Chapman, Chapin, SC

The Honorable Marvin H. Dukes III, Beaufort, SC

Family Court

3rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 Ernest Joseph Jarrett, Kingstree, SC

4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Michael S. Holt, Hartsville, SC

5th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Blakely Copeland Cahoon, Columbia, SC

Laurel Eden Harvey Hendrick, Columbia, SC

C. Vance Stricklin Jr., Columbia, SC

6th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Debra A. Matthews, Blackstock, SC

9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 5 Spiros Stavros Ferderigos, Charleston, SC

Marissa K. Jacobson, Charleston, SC

Julianne M. Stokes, Charleston, SC

10th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 M. Scott McElhannon, Anderson, SC

Brittany Dreher Senerius, Anderson, SC

13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 5 The Honorable Tarita A. Dunbar, Greenville, SC

14th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Jean K. McCormick, Beaufort, SC

The Honorable Douglas L. Novak, Bluffton, SC

15th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 The Honorable Ronald R. Norton, Murrells Inlet, SC

At-Large, Seat 1 Martha M. Rivers Davisson, Aiken, SC

Kimaka (Kim) Nichols-Graham, Greenville, SC

R. Chadwick (Chad) Smith, Rock Hill, SC

At-Large, Seat 2 The Honorable Bryan C. Able, Laurens, SC

Timothy E. Madden, Greenville, SC

Rebecca West, Lexington, SC

Administrative Law Court

Seat 3 The Honorable Harold W. (Bill) Funderburk Jr., Camden,

SC

Seat 4 The Honorable Deborah Brooks Durden, Columbia, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified:

Master-in-Equity

Berkeley County The Honorable Dale E. Van Slambrook, Goose Creek, SC

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 21, 2020. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 5, 2020.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.